BTS: I’m Not SpongeBob

Title: I’m Not SpongeBob
Written by: Timothy Breach
Directed by: Amy Simmons
Starring: Harry Deacon, Rianna Panic and Timothy Breach (voice)

Behind The Scenes

“I’m not SpongeBob” was the first short that we made, which you can tell by the quality of the footage when compared to our final short, though it was released several months after filming wrapped due to editing issues.

For many of us it was our first experience of film-making and it was a blast – though admittedly we were still very much students during filming; creativity is supposed to be fun and social, right?

The premise for the film came to me whilst relaxing in a bath. I picked up the sponge and noticed that there was a tear in it which looked like a mouth and then BOOM – what if the sponge could talk?

It then spiralled into a dark-comedy of sorts; I’ve never considered myself a comedy writer though, so I’m not sure how I feel about the end result. I’m more of a sci-fi/horror fan but such genres are difficult to do with a budget of nothing.

I have penned 2 sequels which have unfortunately not been made due to the scale and scope, which despite revisions, proved impossible to overcome – stay tuned to see excerpts of them.

Leave a comment